The Legalization of Marijuana for Medical Use or Adult Recreational Use
The legalization of marijuana for medical use or adult recreational use in a growing number of states may affect people’s views on this matter. However, as marijuana is being legalized under state guidelines, it is still federally illegal.
Back in 1960 when marijuana received a lot of attention it was usually smoked in hand-rolled cigarettes or in a pipe, very taboo, and not talked about in the mainstream. Now in the year 2018 it has become a state legal multibillion-dollar industry here in Nevada. Schools are starting education courses, Universities are teaching careers in the cannabis industry and states are making millions in TAX income from this industry. A lot of people are replacing typical pain killers, anxiety medications and things of the sort with cannabis products.
In Las Vegas the only place to get marijuana products lawfully is in licensed dispensaries. Some people think that Las Vegas is “Sin City” but this a real community with values and harsh punishments for breaking the law. We have listed a few legalities, we are not taking a side on the Cannabis industry, these are simply legal facts for you to make your own decisions and handle cannabis products responsibly.
Adults 21 and older may possess up to one ounce (1 oz.) of marijuana for personal use. It is illegal to consume pot anywhere outside a private residence. Possessing more than 1 oz. of pot is a felony carrying up to 4 years in prison.
Nevada law prohibits not only drunk driving but also drugged driving. Even if a driver is operating the car safely, he/she can still face a DUI for having at least 2 nanograms per ml. of marijuana in his/her blood. However, it is okay to drive with a 1 oz. or less of weed in the vehicle if it is out of view, such as the trunk or glove compartment.
A first-time offense of growing marijuana carries a $600 misdemeanor fine. But people who live more than 25 miles away from a licensed dispensary may grow up to 6 plants each (12 maximum per household).
A first-time offense of selling (or offering to sell) marijuana is a felony, carrying up to 6 years in prison.
Possession for Sale
A first-time offense of possessing marijuana for the purpose of selling it is a felony carrying up to 4 years in prison.
Driving under the influence of pot is punished like drunk driving.